Dear Adoption, Will You Ever Go Away?

Thanks to Reshma at Dear Adoption!

unnamed-13

Dear Adoption, Will you ever go away?

Will I ever out grow you? If I search and find, will I be unadopted at last? What about when I’m 85? Will I no longer identify as “adopted” then?

My personal experience says the answer is “No”. Now instead of being the adopted girl, I am an adopted adult. It’s less stigmatizing, and I can conceal it if I want, but it’s always there, lurking inside my soul, peeking through my eyes and pressing an ear to the side of my mind as I continue to experience the world. It’s like in cartoons when the character has a devil on one shoulder and an angel on the other. Adoption, Why do you try to slip in with reminders and advice about how to live my life? Adoption or “Adoptism”, as I like to call it, you send me mixed messages…

View original post 899 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

